“True Intimacy: Experiencing Real Worship”

I feel like God’s really been calling me to worship lately, He’s put it in my heart so strongly. I feel like He’s telling me to move forward in my relationship with Him by spending time in worship and prayer. I have had it on my heart lately to just go to my church (which is just right out my back door…i’m a pastors daughter, just in case some of you didn’t know) and put on music and just worship. Just spend time seeking God.


I will sing a new song to You, O God; upon a harp, an instrument of ten strings, will I offer praises to You. Psalm 144: 9

There is something about praise and worship. There’s a feeling that you get from worshiping your Savior that you can’t get anywhere else. When i’m worshiping my God, completely focused on His love and goodness, my problems look so small. They are still there mind you, but they don’t look as scary…they don’t hurt as bad. When I’m with my God, my issues, my struggles, my hurts, my pain…it all looks so very, very distant. It’s like God just takes me up and away in his arms, and we just float above the rest of the fallen world. I love it. I once heard it said that the most powerful praise on the earth is praise when you’re in pain. I know that that is true. The enemy HATES when we praise God, especially when we are going through trials…it drives him crazy to see that we are loyal to Our King no matter what. And something happens, I’m not sure how, but when we focus on God instead of our problems, heaven breaks open. The story of Paul and Silice comes to mind most often when talking about praise, the bible says in Acts 16:25-26 “But at midnight Paul and Silas were praying and singing hymns to God, and the prisoners were listening to them. Suddenly there was a great earthquake, so that the foundations of the prison were shaken; and immediately all the doors were opened and every one’s chains were loosed”. I want to be like them, I want to be like Paul and Silice, i want to sing to my God so loud and so devout that all of the earth caves in, i want heaven to hear my undying praise and love for my God, and i want the enemy to see my chains fall off. Oh, Jesus, break my chains! Let heaven break open and pour out your blessings.

“I can see a light that is coming for a heart that holds on. And there will be an end to these troubles, but until that day comes, still i will praise You” –  Matt Redman

I used to be very timed in my worship, never really raising my hands, never getting into the music out of fear of what others would think. I go to a church that i grew up in, these people have known me since i was in my mama’s belly lol. So i always felt very self conscious when i would be in service and the worship music would start, i was worried that if i raised my hands or even moved to the music, my church members would think “aww, how cute…she’s growing up”. I know this sounds crazy, and i know it’s not true, i have amazing church members who wouldn’t judge me. But, if you grew up in a small church, you may know how i feel…it can just feel awkward and just odd. So for the longest time i would just stand there during worship, i would sing quietly and never really let anything penetrate my heart. It made me really hate worship, i just thought it was plain boring. For me, it took being desperate and broken, and God redeeming me from that desperation and repairing my heart, to really get into praise and worship. It’s like i realized how amazing God is after He rescued me with His love. I was quite broken at one point, i was jaded, angry, hurt, and very confused. I was running, running from myself, running from God…and running to other things to “fix” me. But God rescued me, He pursued my heart and loved me no matter what. He healed the broken things inside of me, and made me new, made me whole. Wow, I knew God was incredible before, but somehow i just had more to be thankful for after going through so much and coming out on the other end, redeemed and new. Now, i can’t help but raise my hands in worship. And i don’t care who’s around, i will move and dance, and cry if i feel so inclined. My God is too great, too amazing, too beautiful, to not lift my hands in worship to Him. I have to. Oh, how worship excites me now. I love it! I can’t wait to worship my God!

The LORD is my strength and my shield; my heart trusted in him, and I am helped: therefore my heart greatly rejoiceth; and with my song will I praise him. Ps 28:7  (KJV)

I love just raising my hands toward heaven, closing my eyes, and let the music wash over me. As i sing the lyrics of my favorite worship songs, it feels as if God and i are the only ones in the room. Worship is a very personal experience. It’s a real encounter with God. Worship is passionate and raw. My most favorite worship times are when I’m at a concert and the band just plays an instrumental that goes on and on as long as it needs to. To just move to the sweet beat of drums, the pulsing bass, the driving guitar…mmm so sweet, so passionate and moving. You can feel the Holy Spirit moving, you can feel Him encompassing the whole building. Beautiful. Absolutely beautiful it is to be that close and the deeply connected to the one and only God.


But the hour cometh, and now is, when the true worshippers shall worship the Father in spirit and in truth: for the Father seeketh such to worship him. God is a Spirit: and they that worship him must worship him in spirit and in truth. John 4:23-24 (KJV)

Friends, i encourage you to get closer to God in praise and worship, it will do wonders for your soul. Worship is where we connect with God, it is where we deepen our relationship with Him. There’s healing in worship, there’s hope and peace. And when you worship you become stronger, because you know you have that true intimate connection with God, and nothing can touch you. I could tell you stories about being so broken vulnerable, but then singing praises to my God and feeling so lifted and light. And You don’t have to be in a church or at a concert to worship God, you can do it right in your home. Set aside a time in your day, go in a room where you can be alone, and put on your favorite worship songs and just spend time singing to God. You don’t even have to listen to the typical worship songs either, just pick some songs that make you feel connected to God. So friends, try this week to spend some time deepening your relationship with your Heavenly Father, focus on Him and His wondrous Love and i promise you, amazing and beautiful things with start to happen in your heart.


“True Intimacy” – Eoghan Heaslip

With all of my heart
I hunger for You
All I want and all I seek
Is true intimacy
With all of my heart
I hunger for You
All I want and all I seek
Is true intimacy with You

(Chorus)
Here I stand waiting Lord
Touch me now like never before
Let me change and be transformed
True intimacy is what I’m longing for

Intimacy is the longing
Of my heart Lord
Of this heart


Cecily’s Favorite Worship songs at the moment ~

Oh, How He Loves Us – David Crowder
Never Let Go – Matt Redman
Everything – Lifehouse
God With Us- MercyMe
I’ll Always Love You – Phil Wickham
All Of Creation – Mercy Me
Beautiful,Beautiful – Francesca Battistelli
Your Love Never Fails – Jesus Culture
Our God – Chris Tomlin
I Love You Lord – Any Hymnal

About Cecily Wetter

meow
This entry was posted in Reflecting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

