“Running After The Right Things In 2010”

When you think of New Years, what comes to mind? Fireworks? Celebrations? Watching the ball drop? But if you’re like most Americans you probably also think of that one little dreaded phrase: New Years Resolutions. It seems inevitable doesn’t it? No matter how many years of broken resolutions go by we just can’t seem to resist making our hopeful little list. I mean honestly, how many of us put diet and exercise at the top of that list but by the time Valentines Day rolls around we have a mouth full of assorted chocolates?

I just wasn’t into that this year. This year I’m in need of something different. I’m in need of something that will last.

Last year, just as usual, I had my list of resolutions together, and I thought “This year will be different. I really will accomplish what’s on this list.” Well 2009 flew by at lightening speed and most of that list has gone unaccomplished.

But maybe I’m running after the wrong things. Maybe I’m forgetting the most important step to getting to the place I hope to be every year. The Bible says in Matthew 6:33 “Seek ye first the Kingdom of God, and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added unto you.” So maybe instead of running after a list of illusions, I need to start 2010 off by running after Him. Seeking a closer relationship with Jesus so He can accomplish what He wants to accomplish through me. So I’ll be ready for the plans He has for me in this new year.

On New Years Eve my family and I welcomed in 2010 in a new way by having communion right at midnight in our living room. We then had prayer asking God to bless this year. It was the most beautiful and special way I’ve ever rang in the new year. It felt like as a family we were giving this year to God. We were committing it to Him.

I pray that this year God would plant His dreams for my life inside my heart. That He would help me to want the right things, and run after the right things. I pray that He will accomplish in my life what wants. For I know it’s only by His strength and by His grace that I can live every year to it’s fullest.

About a month ago I was having a hard time with some things and I opened up my notebook and wrote down 4 things…4 important things that I’m trusting God to help me do:

In 2010 I will ~
*Let the joy of the Lord be my strength. My joy, peace, and happiness will no longer depend on circumstances or in people but in Jesus alone.

*Pray more and complain less. Instead of getting down or depressed about things in my life I will pray about it and surrender it to him. I will pray that God will change those circumstances or change me.

*Worship through my circumstances.

*Worry less and trust more. I will cast my cares upon Him for He cares for me.

So here’s to a year of wanting the right things, a year of running after our Savior. Happy 2010!

About Krystal Rodriguez

Follower of Christ. Twenty-something from Texas. Blogger. Baker. Music addict. Night owl. Chocoholic. Lover of all things creative. You can find me blogging here: https://thewakingezine.wordpress.com and here: http://softlyspokensimplysaid.blogspot.com :)
This entry was posted in Reflecting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

