“Painting Pictures of Egypt”

“I’ve been painting pictures of Egypt/ Leaving out what it lacked/The future seems so hard and I want to go back/But the places that used to fit me cannot hold the things I’ve learned/And those roads closed off to me while my back was turned”

I heard the inspiring song, “Painting Pictures Of Egypt”, by Sara Groves a few weeks ago for what felt like the very first time. The song is at least 6 years old and I have listened to it many times before, but for some reason the words and meaning just never came alive for me like they have now.

I feel like this year has been full of so many changes I cannot seem to keep up. Some of them have been good and others not so good … all of them hard. I’ll be the first to admit, I’m not so good with change. It’s always been a struggle for me to not fight against it. Time can’t seem to leave well enough alone. Just when things seem to be getting along just fine, when the plan seems in place, something must come along and derail it. It’s not always a bad thing mind you. But for someone who doesn’t like change it’s never easy to accept. But I’m learning slowly, very slowly, …. like snails pace… that change is sometimes God’s way of waking you up and moving you out of the place you were, the place the doesn’t quite fit anymore, into a better place. The place you need to be … even if it’s really hard and takes more time than you’d expected.

“The place I was wasn’t perfect but I had found a way to live/It wasn’t milk or honey/But then neither is this”

Sometimes I feel like the place I am may not be the place I want to be but at least I’ve found a way to live there, I’m comfortable. When the winds of change come and hurl me out of that comfort zone, I struggle against the wind to get my bearings. I’ve been trying to remind myself though, that just because it’s a hard change doesn’t always mean it’s a bad change. I told a friend the other day that I think God’s using these changes to grow me. Maybe because times of change and uncertainty are the times we actually choose to surrender to and trust in him. If I believe God has plans for my life like it says in Jeremiah 29:11, and that he will work all things together for my good (Romans 8:28), then I should be able to let go and trust that God will use these changes for good in my life.

“But the places that used to fit me cannot hold the things I’ve learned/And those roads closed off to me while my back was turned”

When I look over the places I’ve been this year I see so many lessons that I’ve learned, so many ways in which God has worked to stretch and grow me. Lessons learned through tears and long over due conversations, through watching someone I love find healing, through laughter, through anger and forgiveness, losing and letting go, fear, hoping and trusting, and running into the arms of Jesus over and over again. God was walking with me through it all, and in the midst of it he did an amazing thing … he taught me and gave more of a passion for his truth. And as hesitant as I may be for change, I can’t help but think that what I’ve learned doesn’t fit into those old places. The places I was no longer fit me anymore, I’ve out grown them.

I want to be a good steward of the lessons and truth he’s taught me. I don’t want to go back to my old self, old ways, or repeat the same mistakes. I don’t want to just disregard what I’ve learned. I want to apply it to my life more and more each day and keep growing. I can’t move back, I have to keep going forward – into the change where new possibilities can arise. Where the spirit of God can keep growing on the inside of me and mold me into the Godly woman he wants me to be. Becoming that woman requires change.

There seems to be so many different sides of change, it can be gut wrenching hard, and it can be breath taking beautiful. It can take a very long time and can be really uncomfortable. And while at times, I still feel a little fearful of what the future holds and the changes looming over the horizon, I’m beginning to learn to rest in a never changing God. In a God who holds my destiny in his hands and is guiding me safely through these changes. He’s such a great God that not only will he guide me safely through but he’ll make me better for it. It’s so comforting to know that in a world of change and uncertainty that we serve a God who is the same yesterday, today, and forever.


Painting Pictures Of Egypt by  Sara Groves

I don’t want to leave here
I don’t want to stay
It feels like pinching to me either way
The places I long for the most
Are the places where I’ve been
They are calling after me like a long lost friend

It’s not about losing faith
It’s not about trust
It’s all about comfortable
When you move so much
The place I was wasn’t perfect
But I had found a way to live
It wasn’t milk or honey
But then neither is this

CHORUS:
I’ve been painting pictures of Egypt
Leaving out what it lacked
The future seems so hard
And I want to go back
But the places that used to fit me
Cannot hold the things I’ve learned
And those roads closed off to me
While my back was turned

The past is so tangible
I know it by heart
Familiar things are never easy to discard
I was dying for some freedom
But now I hesitate to go
Caught between the promise
And the things I know

BRIDGE:
If it comes too quick
I may not recognize it
Is that the reason behind all this time and sand?
If it comes too quick
I may not appreciate it
Is that the reason behind all this time and sand?

About Krystal Rodriguez

Follower of Christ. Twenty-something from Texas. Blogger. Baker. Music addict. Night owl. Chocoholic. Lover of all things creative. You can find me blogging here: https://thewakingezine.wordpress.com and here: http://softlyspokensimplysaid.blogspot.com :)
This entry was posted in Reflecting. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Painting Pictures of Egypt”

  1. TemiRise says:

    First time I heard dis song was about 2 years ago and I didn’t even know the artiste’s name or the title of the song until a few days ago when d song flashed through my mind. I researched it on google and am happy I did.
    The past could be very difficult to let go of. Inspite of current difficulties, there’s hope for the future. This is my meaning to d song

Leave a Reply

