Review for Covergirl Lipstain, L’Oreal Telescopic Mascara,Maybelline Mineral Powder Foundation

 So i’m a self proclaimed makeup freak. I’m always searching for something better then the last thing a purchased. One of my goals in life is to find the PERFECT mascara. Yes my friends, i can’t go down a makeup aisle without spending at least an hour browsing the various products that are just calling for me to try them. Yeah, i hear their voices…oh eyeliner the way you say my name makes me blush! (ooooh blush!). No, i’m not crazy (well maybe a little bit haha), i just love the creativity that makeup can give you. You can express your mood, emotions, and personalty, by the way you apply your makeup. But that’s a topic for another time, eh? This week we are going to focus on the three products that have been in my kitty cat makeup bag for a while now, and are not leaving anytime soon. So let’s get to it, shall we?

 
But first, here’s a little explanation of how i will rate the products:

Cecily’s Makeup Rating System: 1 meow is equal to 1 star, 2 meows is equal to 2 stars…on so on and so on until we hit 4 meows, which is the ultimate yo!

This weeks products:

1. CoverGirl Outlast Lipstain
2. L’Oreal Paris Telescopic Carbon Black Mascara
3. Maybelline Mineral Power Natural Perfecting Powder Foundation

1. CoverGirl Outlast Lipstain

I’ve been using CoverGirl Outlast LipStain in Wild Berry Wink (number 440) for over a month now, and i have to say i’m in deep fuzy love with it! It gives my lips that flushed sultry berry look. It comes in a cute little pen/marker like tube, for easy application. It’s very light weight, i don’t even feel it after i apply it. One flaw i found, is that it does make my lips a bit dry, but that’s easily remedied by applying chapstick on top of the stain (i’m a big fan of cherry chapstick…no Katy Perry reference intended!). And it’s way less dry then any of the “long lasting” lipsticks that completely strip your lips of all moisture! I found that it does last quite a while, not all day mind you, if you eat anything really greasy (mmm pizza!) it will come off…though not completely, but you will need to reapply it. However, it will last most of the day, and through most normal eating and drinking. And just like CoverGirl says, it does not transfer, yes girls (and some guys!) your clothes and kazoos (yes kazoos! they are rock n roll yo!) are safe! The color is very pigmented, but also has a sheerness to it. I’ve found that the best way to apply is to swipe a little down the tip of my finger and the rub it on the middle of my bottom lip and spreading out a little. And depending on how much color i want, i will swipe a little on my top lip, which also gives me a more defined lip line. A little plus is that it smells yummy! mmmm! It’s safe to say that CoverGirl’s Outlast LipStain is going to be a staple in my kitty makeup bag for a while! I give it 4 Meows!

2. L’Oreal Paris Telescopic Carbon Black Mascara

Who the heck doesn’t love dramatically long “Hey look, my lashes can touch the ceiling” eye lashes. And that my friends is what L’Oreal Paris Telescopic Carbon Black Mascara does. I bought this mascara on a whim (like i do with most beauty products), and was instantly and pleasantly surprised. The Carbon Black color is in – freaking -credible! I can’t get over it. It’s oh so intense, giving you very stunning defined eye. L’Oreal named this mascara”Telescopic”, and really i think the name fits it. I have pretty short lashes, and this mascara gets my lashes LONG! It takes them to new heights, if you will! Seriously, i put this mascara on after curling my lashes, and wow, they look so long. And it really opens up my eyes. This mascara really stretches your lashes to where they have nowhere to go but up! However, it doesn’t really give any thickness, so i also wear a volumizing mascara on top of this one (we will cover those next time). So if you’re a stickler for long AND thick lashes, i suggest you first apply L’Oreal Telescopic, wait for it to dry (you may need two coats), and then swipe on your favorite volumizing mascara and bam! you’ll have gorgeous long fluttery lashes! The brush is plastic, and but i think that’s the key to the length you get. The brush separates very well, getting every lash, and dispersing the color evenly. No clumps my friends, no clumps! At first use, the brush is a bit hard to maneuver, feeling a bit flimsy. But, after a little trial and error you get the hang of using it. And i really love the tube, made in a way to look like a telescope, it has a very classy look to it, it’s very sleek and sophisticated. One thing i don’t like is that the formula is quite wet, which can make it difficult to apply, and can weigh your lashes down a bit. But that’s the only flaw i can find. All in all, it’s the best lengthening mascara i’ve found yet! I would definitely recommend giving L’Oreal Paris Telescopic Carbon Black Mascara a try! I give it 3 1/2 Meows.

 

3. Maybelline Mineral Power Natural Perfecting Powder Foundation

When I put on Maybelline’s Mineral Power Powder Foundation for the first time i looked in the mirror and said “Dude! My skin is glowing!”. Yes my friends that is exactly what i said, and that was 3 months ago. And i’ve been saying it everyday since. I love this foundation! It really does give your skin a beautiful healthy glow, and a radiant shine! And it makes my skin insanely soft! That was another thing i first noticed about it, it made my skin feel like silk! My skin has never looked better! I used to use Cover Girl’s oil-free liquid foundation, but it was always so heavy, and it tended to give me that cakey look. It also would give me that orange-ish look at times. Grrrrr i hated that!  So i set out to find something better. And i’m happy to say i found that in Maybelline’s Mineral Powder Foundation. It’s so freaking light weight! I swear i forget i’m even wearing it! It never cakes, even when touched up. I even slept in it before, and it didn’t make me break out. It seems to last the whole day, never getting oily, not even once!  I wore this to a outside baseball game in July, it was 100 degree heat and i was sweating like a cat that just swallowed it’s owners prize fish. And after the game, it still looked pretty good. I find the coverage to be better then it’s liquid counterparts. My skin requires mild coverage, but i’m prone to stress related breakouts, and this foundation covers them perfectly! Redness be gone yo! And it evens out my skin tone. If i’m having a “Oh crap, my skin looks like hell” day, i will layer the applications. The more you layer, the better the coverage. But i’m not sure i’d recommend this to someone with problem skin, i think this foundation is more for people with mild to moderate skin issues. The powder foundation is way less mess then traditional liquid foundation, and that’s what first attracted me to it. It comes in a little round container, and is covered with a filter to help you get the right amount. A small application brush is included, it’s a bit rough, but it does it’s job just fine. All you have to do to apply is dip, tap, and buff away to your hearts content! Maybelline Mineral Power Natural Perfecting Powder Foundation is available in 5 light shades, 4 medium, and 1 dark. I use Number 2,Classic Ivory, and it seems to match my skin quite well. So go ahead and give it a try yo! You will be amazed at how your skin looks and feels! I give this 4 Meows.

About Cecily Wetter

meow
This entry was posted in Radiance. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

