“The Best Kept Secret”

Have you ever eaten a really good dessert that a friend or family member made, asked for the recipe, only to be told that it’s a “secret recipe”? This type of stuff is a huge pet peeve of mine. I’ve also asked some woman about diets their on only to be told the same thing… “It’s a secret”. Not sure if men do this too but all I know is that this is something that my gender does incessantly and it drives me a little bit up the wall.

I’m the type of girl that if I find out about an incredible band I have to share it with as many people who will listen. I love promoting good music. I can talk about a song that’s captured my heart for hours. My sister and I have been making mix cds for people for years and years – just so we can share some of the amazing music that has in so many ways, saved our lives. I’ve never been one of those people who like to be the “only one” who knows about a band. Good music can be healing to the soul and that is worth sharing.

Good books become so much more special when they are passed around, underlined, highlighted, and discussed. Powerful, interesting words are not meant to gather dust on a bookshelf but are meant to be shared. My sister and I love to buy used books from E-bay or Amazon because a lot of them come with notes in the margins, underlined and highlighted passages, and sometimes names and notes written on the inside cover.

Delicious recipes passed down and shared through the years become treasured and comforting things. Tips, advice, stories, and wisdom. Songs, books, photos. I don’t really believe in keeping good things to yourself. I firmly believe that good things need to be shared and not kept tucked away in selfish hiding.

So is with the love and saving grace of our Savior Jesus Christ – which is too amazing to ever be kept tucked away nice and neatly in our back pockets. Jesus – The One who gave His life not just for those of us who sit in the church pews every Sunday but also for those who would never darken the door of a church. For the homeless, the poor, for those in clubs getting high and drunk, for the racist, for the addicted, the bitter, the lost, the lonely, for the cutter, for the abused, for the abuser, for liars, cheaters, thieves, the greedy, for the hungry, sick, confused, depressed & hurting, the weary & tired, brokenhearted, the angry, hopeless, the person who can’t trust, dreamers with broken dreams, the arrogant, the judgmental, for the too busy to care, the unbeliever, the suicidal, for the immoral, the deceived, the prostitute, the impure, the adulterers…

And that my friends, is good news.

Yes, He died for us all and this is a message for everyone. My mind can’t comprehend how vast His love is. It’s crazy when you think about how Jesus died for the worst of the worst. That no matter what someone has done, if they come to Him with a true repentant heart, they will know the forgiveness of the One true God. It’s amazing!

He paid our debts in full. Now we can come to Him, be accepted and loved just as we are, invite Him into our hearts, and be changed forever. Because of Him we do not have to be enslaved to our flesh, or weighed down by the chains that bind us – we can be free. This is the best news, news that must be shared with anyone and everyone who will listen. Jesus’s love and forgiveness was never meant to be just “ours”, as if Christianity is some sort of club with a secret handshake and a list of rules – “Do and say all the right things and we may let you in on our secret”. No, the love of Jesus is the best secret that we have been keeping, and it’s time to let that secret out – in word and in deed.

“He said to them, “Go into all the world and preach the good news to all creation.” – Mark 16:15 (NIV)

“Best Kept Secret” by Skillet

Shrouded in proof, You’re the mystery
You’re the truth that lives within the world we see
You’re the hand that holds destiny

And I can’t pretend i don’t know
And I can’t leave it alone (yeah, yeah)

[Chorus:]
You’re the best kept secret in my generation
The best kept secret of all time
You’re the best kept secret in my generation
And I found you out

You’re the hope over the centuries
You’re the cosmic force that rules the galaxies
You’re the evidence that demands our belief

And I can’t live for myself
I can’t keep this all to myself (yeah, yeah)

[CHORUS (repeat)]

Let it out
Let it out
Let it out
Let it out, yeah!

And I can’t pretend I don’t know
And I can’t leave it alone (yeah, yeah)

[CHORUS (repeat)}

About Krystal Rodriguez

Follower of Christ. Twenty-something from Texas. Blogger. Baker. Music addict. Night owl. Chocoholic. Lover of all things creative. You can find me blogging here: https://thewakingezine.wordpress.com and here: http://softlyspokensimplysaid.blogspot.com :)
This entry was posted in Reflecting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

