Hot Cocoa Cookies

This week in Someone’s In The Kitchen we are starting off our week with a sweet treat! We’ve got our aprons on and baking up some gooey, chocolatey cookies that just might remind you of your favorite drink on a cold night. Hot Cocoa Cookies are on the menu today! So pour yourself a glass of milk and enjoy! 🙂

Hot Cocoa Cookies
{http://damegoodeats.blogspot.com}

Last week I (Cecily) was experiencing some…stressful times, if you will…okay, so that’s putting it lightly, I was about a few seconds away from being qualified for being thrown in the loony bin for stress related mental break Lol. So, because I want to have something to look forward to in my later years of life, I decided to bake something to save me from the batty house. After making a mad dash to my favorite food blogs, I came across this recipe on Dame Good Eats, for Hot Cocoa Cookies…yeah, I knew I struck gold. These cookies are the perfect treat for a frustrating day when you just need a something sweet to bring your mood up, or for a day when you just want to relax with a cookie that feels comforting and cozy…yes, I just described cookies as comforting and cozy, I know this sounds food obsessed, yet I don’t care.

The cookies taste just like a cup of chocolaty hot cocoa that you would have in the winter, its deep and rich cocoa flavor is not too, too sweet, but  just sweet enough, and is enhanced by the marshmallow fluff in the batter. I adore marshmallow fluff and could get eat it right out the jar (which I often do!), so I added a little more than the recipe called for, the flavor of the cream really comes through in the cookies…perfection I say! Not only does the cookie get marshmallow fluff, but also mini marshmallows are added to the batter to give it an authentic hot cocoa feel, because let’s face it, what is hot cocoa without the sugary mallows of marsh?

Once out of the oven, these cookies take a while to cool and set, and the recipe calls for you to let them cool for 15 minutes before getting them off the pan, and then sit for 30 minutes after that. Now, I am not a patient person when it comes to sweets and baking, so I did things my own way and just gave these babies a few minutes to cool and then stuck them in the freezer for a few more minutes and they were ooey gooey, chewy, yummy solid hot cocoa perfection! Mmm, just what a taxing day needs 🙂

Ingredients:
1 cup butter, at room temperature
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 cups flour
1/2 cup cocoa powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup marshmallow fluff
1 cup chocolate chips
1 cup mini marshmallows

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350.

Cream butter, sugar, eggs and vanilla until fluffy. Add flour, cocoa
powder, baking soda and salt and mix until combined. Stir in marshmallow
fluff.

Fold in chocolate chips and marshmallows. Cover dough with plastic wrap
and refrigerate for 30 minutes to 1 hour. Remove, and roll into 1
1/2-inch balls.

Bake at 350 for 10-12 minutes. Make sure cookies are fully cooked,
because they will be very sticky from the marshmallows. Allow cookies to
cool completely, even sticking them in the fridge for 15 minutes before
removing from the baking sheet with a spatula. Be patient and gently
remove cookies – let sit another 30 minutes.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

