“What If I Stumble?”

[The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today
Is Christians who acknowledge Jesus with their lips
Then walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle.
That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.]

Is this one for the people?
Is this one for the Lord?
Or do I simply serenade for things I must afford?
You can jumble them together, my conflict still remains
Holiness is calling, in the midst of courting fame

Cause I see the trust in their eyes
Though the sky is falling
They need Your love in their lives
Compromise is calling

What if I stumble, what if I fall?
What if I lose my step and I make fools of us all?
Will the love continue when my walk becomes a crawl?
What if I stumble, and what if I fall?

What if I stumble, what if I fall?
You never turn in the heat of it all
What if I stumble, what if I fall?

Father please forgive me for I can not compose
The fear that lives within me
Or the rate at which it grows
If struggle has a purpose
On the narrow road you’ve carved
Why do I dread my trespasses will leave a deadly scar

Do they see the fear in my eyes?
Are they so revealing?
This time I cannot disguise
All the doubt I’m feeling

Everyone’s got to crawl when you know that
You’re up against a wall, it’s about to fall
Everyone’s got to crawl when you know that

I hear You whispering my name

You say, “My love for you will never change”

What if I stumble, what if I fall?
You never turn in the heat of it all
What if I stumble, what if I fall?
You are my comfort, and my God

– “What If I Stumble?” by dc Talk 

            The questions this song poses are extremely relevant to every Christian. Is my life reflective of Christ? If I were to stumble or make a mistake, would non-believers criticize? Could my actions bring shame to God’s name?

            The Bible is very explicit in what is expected of those who claim to be Christians. “Imitate God, therefore, in everything you do, because you are His dear children. Live a life filled with love, following the example of Christ. He loved us and offered himself as a sacrifice for us, a pleasing aroma to God” (Ephesians 5:1-2). The rest of Ephesians chapter 5 goes on to admonish Christians in living a righteous life and to avoid falling into sin. 

            Still, even if we were to do our absolute best in living rightly, there will inevitably be a time when we’ll stumble or fall. After all, we aren’t perfect. And that’s okay, because God understands that. He sent His Son to be a substitute for our imperfections, failures, and mistakes – past, present and future. His forgiveness is readily available: “If we confess our sins, He is faithful and righteous to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness” (1 John 1:9). 

            Another thing to keep in mind is that everyone is accountable for their own actions; that includes those who are pointing the fingers at someone else’s faults. “For you will be treated as you treat others. The standard you use in judging is the standard by which you will be judged. And why worry about a speck in your friend’s eye when you have a log in your own? …  Hypocrite! First get rid of the log in your own eye; then you will see well enough to deal with the speck in your friend’s eye” (Matthew 7:2-3, 5). Beware of scoffing at those who stumble for you won’t escape judgment yourself. 

            With that being said, Christians have no excuse to live their life just any ol’ way. Even if we have forgiveness and even if those who judge will also be judged, we are to still pursue godliness. “Well then, should we keep on sinning so that God can show us more and more of His wonderful grace? Of course not! Since we have died to sin, how can we continue to live in it?” (Romans 6:1-2). It is so important that Christians don’t cause a non-believer or a new Christian to stumble. “Woe to the world because of its stumbling blocks! For it is inevitable that stumbling blocks come; but woe to that man through whom the stumbling block comes!” (Matthew 18:7).

            Also, as a child of God, we should want to do the right thing. When we obey the Lord, we are proving our love for Him. Jesus said, “If you love Me, you will keep My commandments” (John 14:15). If we don’t want to do the right thing and would rather sin, we should seriously examine our lives and relationship with God (2 Corinthians 13:5).

            For the sake of Christ’s name and the salvation He offers, strive to live excellently. “For the Lord is the Spirit, and wherever the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom. So all of us who have had that veil removed can see and reflect the glory of the Lord. And the Lord—who is the Spirit—makes us more and more like Him as we are changed into His glorious image” (2 Corinthians 3:17-18). The more we pursue Christ, the easier it’ll become to do the right thing. We’ll have less stumbles too. And when we fall, we’ll get back up!

This entry was posted in Reflecting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “What If I Stumble?”

  1. That’s one of my favorite Dc Talk songs!! I’ve always thought it was one of the best they ever wrote, the lyrics are so honest.

    I think when we make mistakes it’s so easy to feel like a failure and to worry what people, who know that we’re a Christian, will think. We worry if it will hurt our testimony, which we definitely do need to be aware of. But sometimes I think we can be so hard on ourselves when God just wants us to accept his forgiveness and move on. It’s funny though because when we see someone else’s mistakes we can be so quick to condemn them. I know I’ve definitely been guilty of it before. I love how blunt Matthew 7:2 is! It really drives home the point that we should be worried about the condition of our soul first, to make sure we are living for Christ instead of judging another.

    It’s so true that the more we pursue Christ the less we stumble! I find that’s one of the biggest things I’ve learned in my walk with God. Pursuing him daily, dying to self is the only way we are empowered to live a holy life. Without that in place and when we try to do it on own it ends up being such a mess lol. But praise God that he never gives up on us. That even when we do stumble he’s faithful to pick us up if we will call out to him.

  2. Amanda Oliver says:

    Hey Krys, thanks for your comment! 🙂

    I loved that song the moment I heard it! It has so much depth to it. Toby really out-did himself on that one!

    You’re right; we need to embrace the forgiveness God freely gives instead of letting our mistakes hold us back and bring us down. I like a lyric from David Crowder Band that says, “Let’s risk the ocean, there’s only grace.” Sometimes we will fall, but God is always there to show us mercy.

    Daily carrying our cross, submitting ourselves to God, and checking our attitudes and actions is important for all Christians to live a life “above reproach.” Since we are a light to the world, we don’t need anything that will make us “dim.” Only with Christ’s help can we shine brightly for Him!

Leave a Reply

