Spa Edition: Brown Sugar Scrubs!

Welcome back to Someone’s In The Kitchen! This week we’re mixing up something a little different in our kitchen. It’s still sugary and sweet, but this time it goes on your skin instead of inside your stomach. We’re making a couple at home spa treatments with the ingredients that are already in your pantry! A Brown Sugar Facial Scrub and a Brown Sugar Body Scrub are what we’re whipping up today! So sit back, relax, put some cucumber slices on your eyes, get out your fluffy slippers, & take a spa day!

Brown Sugar Facial Scrub –


(Recipe & photo found @ www.chickenintheroad.com)

What girl doesn’t love homemade beauty treatments? You get all the benefits of lovely skin without the cost, plus there just fun to make! I (Krystal) had so much fun getting in the kitchen and mixing up these brown sugar scrubs. It kinda felt like I was baking cookies or a cake – apron on, mixing bowl, and measuring cups on hand. I don’t know about you, and maybe it’s because I love baking, but the smell of brown sugar is one of my all time favorite scents! So mixing it with honey, vanilla, and olive oil and slathering it on my face actually sounded pretty delightful! And it has so many benefits – the brown sugar acts as an exfoliate, the honey acts as an astringent, the olive oil moisturizes, and the vanilla adds a sweet scent!  And let me tell you, it works just as good if not better than the expensive store bought stuff! My skin felt so soft after I used it! Be sure to give it a try! Also, both of these scrubs would make great gifts!

2 cups brown sugar (lightly packed)
1/2 cup olive oil
1/4 cup honey
1 teaspoon vanilla

Place the brown sugar in a medium-size bowl, add in olive oil, honey, & vanilla and stir until combined. Scoop into a jar or air tight container. Make sure you stir before each use as it does tend to separate. To use: Moisten face with water and gently work into skin, leave on for 5 to 10 minutes for extra benefits, rise with warm water and pat dry. Follow up with moisturizer.

 

Brown Sugar Body Scrub –
(Recipe found @ http://domesticgoddessadventures.blogspot.com)

Now this brown sugar scrub will make you want to bake a cake … but do try to resist, as this will benefit your skin so much more. Not only does it have both brown sugar and white sugar but also the lovely scents of cinnamon, ginger, and cloves!  Mmmm. And trust me, after you use it your skin will feel so silky soft and you’ll smell really yummy too! The original recipe didn’t give any measurements just ingredients, but these are the measurements that I used and it turned out great! And if you have any ingredients left over you may just wanna whip up a cake for later! 😉

1 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup white sugar
1 tsp. ginger powder
1 tsp. cloves
1 tsp. cinnamon
enough olive oil to moisten

In a bowl, mix together brown sugar, white sugar, ginger powder, cloves, and cinnamon.
Gradually stir olive oil into the sugar mixture until you get the right consistency. Scoop into jar or air tight container.

This entry was posted in Radiance, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spa Edition: Brown Sugar Scrubs!

  1. Kyla says:

    I found your recipes while googling for homemade scrub ideas for take home gifts for my daughter’s upcoming birthday party….I was wondering how long the shelf life is of these so I could plan on how early I could make them to save time….Thank you for your help in advance and by finding this site by “accident” I am really excited to follow it…Thank you again!!!!!

    • Hi Kyla! These scrubs actually keep really well! I made mine a couple weeks ago and it’s still good; just be sure to stir before each use. I’ve actually heard people say that they have the shelf life of olive oil and can last up to a few months. But if you want to ensure the freshness you can add a little sea salt or vitamin E to it and it’ll act as a preservative. Hope this helps! I’m sure they will make lovely gifts! Thanks for stopping by; so glad to have you following along! 🙂

  2. So glad I found your site. This will be perfect for my “grown” college aged daughters. I had to mix up a batch real quick to test it out. My husband said I smelled to sweet to go to sleep. Thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

