Broccoli Cheddar Chicken Braid

For the past two installments of Someone’s In The Kitchen we have shared a couple sweet treats with you guys; we have made cookies with an overabundance of chocolate chips, and pretzels filled with peanut butter and covered in chocolate. And while that’s great, we thought we might be getting just a little predictable. So this week we’re changing it up a bit and sharing a delish and easy meal that actually has a vegetable in it {gasp}! I know, not the norm for us. But don’t worry it’s still got lots of cheddar cheese to balance out the veggies! 😉 Broccoli Cheddar Chicken Braid is what’s on our menu this week! 

Broccoli Cheddar Chicken Braid –
(Recipe found @ www.3kidsandus.com)

A couple weeks ago I was browsing recipes on food blogs, and I don’t know if I’m the only crazy person that does this, but I tend to go on what you could call a recipe binge. I go from one food blog to the next, saving recipes to try my hand at, because I have somewhat of a baking/cooking addiction {as if that probably weren’t obvious}. And let me just say, Pinterest does not help this addiction, as I have come across tons of lovely photos of foods I must make myself. I found this recipe while on one of my recipe hunts and had to give it a shot.

This was so easy to make and it was also kinda fun to braid the dough … maybe I’m just easily amused. The mixture of chicken, cheese, broccoli, and mayo makes for a really creamy and cheesy filling, while the crescent roll dough makes for a flaky crust.The only thing I would probably do differently next time is add maybe another cup of cheese, as it wasn’t quite as cheesy as I would have liked it.

With the broccoli in this recipe you might even be able to get away with saying it’s somewhat healthy…so it’s loaded with cheddar cheese and wrapped in buttery crescent roll dough; the broccoli is in there :p.

Ingredients:
2 cans Pillsbury Original Crescent Rolls
2 cups chicken chunks, cooked
2 cups cheddar cheese
2 cups broccoli, frozen, steamed and chopped
1/2 cup light mayonnaise
1 egg yolk
fresh rosemary

Directions:
Preheat oven to 375 degrees F

On a parchment paper lined cookie sheet, spread both cans of crescents length wise to form a long rectangle. Press each of the seams to form a single layer of dough.

In a large bowl, combine chicken, cheese, broccoli, and mayonnaise. Spread mixture over the center of the croissant dough evenly to create a log.

Using a sharp knife, cut horizontal strips 1 inch apart down each side of the crescent dough. Fold the dough strips over the top of the chicken mixture, alternating left and right to create a braid. Brush the top of the braid with a beaten egg yolk and sprinkle fresh rosemary on top.

Bake for 28 – 30 minutes until golden brown.

About Krystal Rodriguez

Follower of Christ. Twenty-something from Texas. Blogger. Baker. Music addict. Night owl. Chocoholic. Lover of all things creative. You can find me blogging here: https://thewakingezine.wordpress.com and here: http://softlyspokensimplysaid.blogspot.com :)
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Broccoli Cheddar Chicken Braid

  1. Looks wonderful and I love broccoli – great way of using it!

  2. Casey says:

    That looks and sounds incredible!!! Can’t wait to try it, thanks for the recipe 😀

Leave a Reply

