Coffee Cream Brownies

This week here at Someone’s In The Kitchen we are talking brownies! Always a great subject, agreed? I’ve been on a major brownie kick lately… but admittedly so I can’t think of a time when I’m not. They are my weakness after all. And while it’s true that brownies are great all on their own, we are going to dress them up with a couple killer ingredients; coffee & chocolate!  Yeah, how can you go wrong with that? 🙂

 
Coffee Cream Brownies –
(Photo & Recipe found @ http://crustabakes.wordpress.com)

So I might as well go ahead and tell you that my brownies looked nothing like the pretty and oh so perfect picture above. No, I’m not bitter about it… okay, maybe just a little. I am however determined to make them again until I get them exactly right….any taste testers out there? Looking to share the wealth & extra calories this “brownie perfecting” is bound to ensue. 😉 These Coffee Cream Brownies have all the makings of the worlds most perfect brownies; moist & chewy brownies with creamy coffee infused frosting, topped off with rich & velvety chocolate ganache. I know, this flavor combo sounds like heaven, right? And I’m sure it would’ve been… if only I had done it right lol. I, in my baking wisdom, thought the frosting looked a tad dry & added in a little more cream…which made it too runny. Therefore when I poured the still too hot ganache over the frosting, it all ran together as I was spreading it out. Don’t get me wrong, they’re still good, but you can’t taste the coffee frosting or see the pretty layers. 😦

So next time I try my hand at these lovelies, I plan to double the coffee frosting (in my opinion, it didn’t make enough) & follow the recipe to the letter. And instead of spreading the ganache on top, I think drizzling it would work better! Wish me luck! 😀

1/2 C butter

3 Ounces chopped Chocolate

2 eggs

1 C sugar

1 tsp Vanilla extract

2/3 C All purpose Flour

1/4 tsp Baking Soda

Filling:

1 TBS whipping cream

1 tsp instant coffee granules

2 tbs butter, softened

1 C confectioner’s sugar

Glaze:

1 C ( 6 ounces ) semi-sweet or dark chocolate chips

1/3 C heavy whipping cream

1. In a microwave, melt butter and chocolate. Stir until smooth. Cool slightly. In a small bowl, beat the eggs, sugar and vanilla. Stir in chocolate mixture. Combine flour and baking soda, gradually add to the chocolate mixture.

2. Spread into a greased 8 inch square baking pan. Bake at 350 for 25-30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the centre comes out clean. Cool on a wire rack.

3. For the filling, combine cream and coffee granules in a small bowl. Stir until the coffee is dissolved. In a small bowl, cream butter and confectioners sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in coffee mixture, spread over brownies.

4. In a small saucepan, combine chips and cream. Cook and stir over low heat until chocolate is melted and mixture is thickened. Cool slightly. Carefully spread over filling. Let stand for 30 minutes or until glaze is set. Cut into squares. Store in refrigerator.

About Krystal Rodriguez

Follower of Christ. Twenty-something from Texas. Blogger. Baker. Music addict. Night owl. Chocoholic. Lover of all things creative. You can find me blogging here: https://thewakingezine.wordpress.com and here: http://softlyspokensimplysaid.blogspot.com :)
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Coffee Cream Brownies

  1. Wow! These look awesome!

Leave a Reply

