Spicy Chicken Biscuit

This week here in Someone’s In The Kitchen, we are recreating a yummy breakfast sandwich from your favorite fast food place and mine, yes, Chick-fil-A! Who doesn’t love Chick-fil-A? And if you happen to be one of the odd few who isn’t a fan of the “fil-A”… I don’t even want to hear about it; it’s simply un-American! There is just no denying that they know their chicken. Unfortunately the nearest Chick-fil-A is an hour away from me so I don’t get it as much as I’d like… one of the curses of living in a small town, I suppose. And while yes, I totally respect their choice to close on Sundays…. it’s a little inconvenient for us chicken lovers out there. I mean really, much props, what kind of Christian would I be if I didn’t give ’em credit for it, they’re keeping the Sabbath…but we need our Spicy Chicken Sandwiches and waffles fries! We, the American people, have our needs Chick-fil-A! It’s not fair that the day you crave chicken the most is on Sundays… it’s the work of the devil, of this I am convinced. Okay, rant over.

So because of these reasons I was very excited to find a recipe for one of my “Chick-filly” faves; the Spicy Chicken Biscuit! Make this for breakfast when you can’t get to a Chick-fil-A and all will be right with the world once again. πŸ™‚

Spicy Chicken Biscuit –


(Recipe & Photo found @ http://www.jasonandshawnda.com)

Let me start out by saying that my family and I ate these sandwiches for three days in a row! Yes, they are that good and yes, that is a record and I blame Pinterest for it. Ah, PinterestΒ … oh that lovely site that I can’t seem to pull myself away from on most days (I’m convinced more blogs would get written if I didn’t have this little obsession) seems to be the culprit of all the fattening food in my life lately. These breakfast sandwiches are so easy to make and they do taste almost exactly like Chick-fil-A! It’s like having the restaurant in your own home! The chicken has just the right amount of spice and is so flavorful, top it with some cheese, a drizzle of honey, and sandwich it in fluffy buttermilk biscuits and you have one impressive and satisfying breakfast!

Ingridients:
2 chicken breasts
1 heaping Tbsp sriracha (I used Franks Hot Sauce instead)
1/3 cup milk
1/3 cup flour
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp fresh ground black pepper
1 tsp ground red pepper
1/2 tsp chile powder
1/4 tsp garlic powder
4 buttermilk biscuits
Monterrey Jack or Pepper Jack, for serving
Honey, for serving
Vegetable oil, for frying

Instructions:
Pound chicken breasts to even thickness (1/3-inch) and cut in half. (If you’re chicken breasts are very large, consider cutting them into thirds – whatever fits your biscuits best.)

Stir milk and sriracha together in a shallow dish. It will look like strawberry milk but it won’t taste like strawberry milk.

Whisk flour, salt, peppers, garlic and chile powders together in another shallow dish. Dip the chicken in the milk and then dredge in the seasoned flour. Repeat and place on a plate. Dredge the remaining three pieces of chicken breast. Place the chicken in the fridge for 15 minutes.

Heat oil (enough to come up 1/2 – 3/4 inch in your pan) over medium-high heat to 375. Fry chicken 5-7 minutes on each side, until the internal temp reaches 165. Transfer to a plate lined with paper towels and let rest a few minutes.

Serve on a split biscuit, topped with cheese and honey.

I don’t normally include videos in food blogs but in this case I have to make an exception. In honor of my undying love & affection for Chick-fil-A, I thought I would include a video of comedian, Tim Hawkins singing a little ode to Chick-fil-A that I think pretty much sums it all up. Enjoy! πŸ™‚

About Krystal Rodriguez

Follower of Christ. Twenty-something from Texas. Blogger. Baker. Music addict. Night owl. Chocoholic. Lover of all things creative. You can find me blogging here: https://thewakingezine.wordpress.com and here: http://softlyspokensimplysaid.blogspot.com :)
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

