Blackened Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

Hello friends! It’s been awhile since I’ve written here on The Waking. I’ve been in the process of moving to peachy Georgia, and getting used to life as a newlywed 🙂 I’ve been married for some months now, and much to my surprise, have had bit of a hard time jumping into the whole kitchen goodness thing…what do I mean by this? Well, frankly that everything I seem to cook for my husband either burns or just doesn’t turn out right. This has had me freaking out because darn it I know I can cook! (Insert pout face). But, I have been told by many that rough cooking patches for new wives is normal, so at least I have some comfort, but I’ve still been pretty gun shy about cooking lately.

This brings us to this past week when I decided to try out a recipe for Blackened Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo.

We made this on sort of a whim after a long work day when neither of us wanted to drive to the store to pick up ingredients, so we used what was on hand. Even though we were making fettuccine, we only had mostacholi on hand, so we used that instead.

I was so pleasantly surprised with this dish, even my husband liked it and gave me a round of applause (I love applause when I cook!). The chicken is coated with a mix of spices such as cayenne, paprika, cumin, and thyme, and has a full and smoky flavor. I’m serious; this is good full flavored chicken!

Instead of using an Alfredo mix like the recipe suggests, I decided to whip one up since to me the cheese is the most important part (I love cheese.) The Alfredo sauce is a mix of Parmesan and colby jack cheese, but we substituted those with mozzarella and, mixing cultures a bit; we also used a shredded Mexican Queso blend. We used all half and half instead of the 1 cup the recipe calls for and nixed the milk. The result was a very creamy, rich cheesy sauce that left this cheese crazy gal very happy!

The combination of flavors from the blackened chicken and the rich sauce go together perfectly, and create a great weeknight pick me up…And can also break a streak of bad cooking! Yes, I was very proud of this meal 🙂 So go ahead and give it a try and see if your loved ones don’t give you some lovin’ applause as well! 🙂

 Blackened Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo


(Recipe adapted from http://thisweekfordinner.com/)

9-oz package fresh fettuccine
2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1 teaspoon paprika
1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1/4 teaspoon onion powder

Alfredo Sauce
(Recipe adapted from http://www.Allrecipes.com)

1 (8 ounce) package sliced mushrooms
1/3 cup all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon salt
3/4 teaspoon ground white pepper
3 cups milk
1 cup half-and-half
3/4 cup grated Parmesan (or mozzarella) cheese
8 ounces shredded Colby-Monterey Jack cheese
3 roma (plum) tomatoes, diced

Lightly spray a 9×13 baking pan or dish with cooking oil. Set aside. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Pound the chicken breast until quite thin (around 1/4″ thick). Mix all of the spice ingredients together thoroughly. Coat both sides of the chicken breasts with the spices.

Heat a non-stick grill pan or skillet over medium high heat. Place chicken breasts in pan and brown both sides, 45-60 seconds per side. Place chicken in prepared baking pan and bake in oven for 5 minutes. Remove from oven and slice chicken into strips.

Meanwhile, melt 4 tablespoons butter in the skillet. Sauté onion, 2 cloves garlic, and mushrooms until onions are transparent. Stir in flour, salt and pepper; cook 2 minutes. Slowly add milk and half-and-half, stirring until smooth and creamy. Stir in Parmesan and Colby-Monterey Jack cheeses; stir until cheese is melted.

Cook pasta according to package directions. Drain and return pasta to warm pot over medium-low heat. Pour in alfredo sauce and mix thoroughly.

Serve pasta with sliced chicken served on top. Enjoy!

About Cecily Wetter

meow
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blackened Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

  1. chasonarthur says:

    Sounds like you have a pretty lucky husband to get such goods eats as this….”we wants some meats”

Leave a Reply

