Flourless Zucchini Brownies

I usually don’t make desserts at home; processed sugar and flour make me feel very lethargic, so I shy away from both. Naturally, I was intrigued when I stumbled upon this recipe for flourless brownies. Was it even possible to make a baked good without flour? Although skeptical, I figured I’d give it a try since I had most of the ingredients at home.

It literally took 5 minutes to whip these up; I got bit nervous when I beheld the partially-green batter before me (I started having flashbacks of failed ‘healthy dessert’ recipes I’d tried in the past). But once I popped the dish into the oven, the color transformed into a chocolaty brown and the brownies rose beautifully. The finished product was impressively sweet and satisfying, without any added sugar or gluten. What an easy (and yummy) way to sneak an extra serving of vegetables into your diet!

Flourless Zucchini Brownies

Via delightedmomma.com

Ingredients:
1 cup of almond butter
1 1/2 cup zucchini (the equivalent of about 3 zucchini). No need to peel; just shred them in a food processor.
1/3 cup of honey
1 egg
1 tsp of vanilla
1 tsp of baking soda
1 tsp of cinnamon
1/2 tsp of nutmeg
1 cup of dark chocolate chips (I used abnormally big chips; unfortunately, many of them gravitated towards the bottom instead of melting with the batter as it cooked. Don’t be a dumb bunny like me; melt the chocolate chips before incorporating them into the batter!).

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2. Combine all the ingredients into a large bowl and mix everything together.
3. Pour into a greased 9×9 baking pan.
4. Bake for 35-45 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Flourless Zucchini Brownies

  1. Ooh they look delicious! Do you think other nut butters could work as well?

    • Amber Oliver says:

      Thanks for your comment, Melbourne Food Snob! 🙂 This was actually my first experience baking with a nut butter; after googling the subject, I assume that using another kind would work just as well! The texture and taste might vary slightly, but I think the overall effect would be the same. If you try it, do report back with the results! I’d love to know how they turn out 🙂

  2. Amber, these brownies look & sound delish! I’ll definitely be giving them a try! I haven’t had a lot of luck with healthier desserts either as they rarely turn out edible. Glad to hear this was a success! And it is a good way to sneak in some veggies… think I’d like my veggies better with chocolate involved. 😉

    • Amber Oliver says:

      Krystal, I think you’ll love these; I’ve made many horrid healthy desserts, but these are actually sweet! Great way to utilize the budding summer stock too 🙂

      Also, if anyone doesn’t prefer bitter chocolate, you could always substitute the dark chocolate chips with milk chocolate instead.

  3. I know what you mean, but I’m you made these – they are perfect. Very dense and moist. Fantastic!

    • Amber Oliver says:

      Thanks for your comment, frugalfeeding! I’m glad you enjoyed these brownies as much as I did! 🙂

  4. I was sceptical that these would rise at all because they have no flour, but I was wrong! I have never had anything with almond butter in it, but it made these very moist. I love zucchini bread too, but with the chocolate, these are a favorite for me!

    • Amber Oliver says:

      I’d never had almond butter before either, but I loved it! Less heavy than peanut butter, it seemed. Now that you mention it, the addition of walnuts (like zucchini bread) would add some nice texture to these brownies 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

