Chinese Chicken Salad

Holla friends! This week I will be sharing a lovely recipe that I got from my new mother in-law 🙂

A favorite of my husband and his family, Chinese Chicken Salad is the meal of choice when it comes to special occasions and birthdays for my husband and sister in-law, so it’s safe to say this recipe is pretty special and loved 🙂 Most recently my husband and I have been looking for things to make on the weekends that can carry over as lunch for the busy work days, being a lover of salad and this being his favorite; we decided it was the prefect bulk lunch meal!

Normally I’m not much of a salad person, I just find them plain and kind of lack luster, but that is not the case with this one; fresh romaine, green onions, tender shredded chicken, all topped with crunchy wontons and a wonderfully yummy and tangy dressing! Mmm, I could eat this all day!

The dressing is what makes this salad, cider vinegar, sesame oil, and sugar, are just some of the ingredients that make this dressing a little sweet and little tangy, but I am told the MSG is what really makes it so good! The crunch of the wontons gives the dish an added dose of fun and texture…along with just being really tasty (it’s so horrible how many of those things I could eat in one sitting!).

A little more time consuming to put together than your average lettuce and tomato salad, but is a meal in it self and can be served as a main dish. So go ahead and make it for a special occasion, or to make a boring weeknight a little spunkier 🙂

Chinese Chicken Salad
4 chicken breasts, boiled (remove skin and shred)
1 head each: Romaine red tip and head lettuce
½ package Wanton Wraps, cut into stripes and fried
3 green onions, chopped

Dressing
½ cup salad oil
2 tbsp. sesame seed oil
6 tbsp. cider vinegar
1 tsp. MSG
2 tsp. Sugar
1 tsp. salt

Break up lettuce and mix with chicken and onions. Chill. When ready to serve pour dressing on and toss. Mix in the Wantons which have been broken into bite size. Dive in! 🙂

About Cecily Wetter

meow
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Chinese Chicken Salad

  1. trialsinfood says:

    never heard of chinese chicken salad before, but sounds good.

  2. Hi there 🙂 I never heard of it either until my husband introduced me to it, but it is very tasty!! 🙂 I very much recommend giving it a try! 🙂

  3. Nikki Sawyer says:

    This looks very familiar!! 🙂 And now I’m craving some! This is the best salad EVER!

Leave a Reply

